地區:漢普郡-溫徹斯特

性別:男校

年齡:13至18歲

創校年份:1382年

Winchester_1.png
學校簡介

Winchester College是英國其中一間最古老的頂級學校,將於2022年迎來640週年。為讓學生能面對現代社會的需求及挑戰,Winchester為所有學生安排獨特的Div課堂,鼓勵學生積極探討各類型考試課程以外的議題。Div體現了Winchester的學術自由風氣,培養學生的批判性思維,以及訓練他們清晰地、自信地表達個人想法。

 

Winchester採行全寄宿制度,共提供10間宿舍,每間宿舍容納約60名學生。越高年級的學生,將獲安排越少人同住的房間。而應屆畢業生亦會擔任senior prefect的角色,協助照顧宿舍中較低年級的宿生。

 

考試成績及升學路向

於2020年的GCSE,學生考獲93.1% 9-7及100% 9-4的成績。至於Pre-U成績,則為81% A*-A(或同等成績)及90.8% A*-B(或同等成績)。

 

每年均有不少畢業生成功入讀牛津或劍橋大學。於2020年,8%的預科畢業生獲牛津大學取錄,另有10%獲劍橋大學取錄。其餘畢業生亦幾乎全部成功升讀Russell Group旗下大學或著名美國大學,包括哈佛大學及麻省理工學院等。

 

課外活動

板球在Winchester擁有悠久歷史,並由頂級板球教練為學生制定訓練計劃,務求充分激發各人之潛能。

 

音樂亦是Winchester不可或許的一部分。他們是唯一一間仍能保留600年前合唱團傳統特色的學校。而校內三分之二的學生皆能演奏至少一種樂器,不少更能演奏兩至三種。

 

校內設施

於2014年作大規模翻新的New Hall,提供一個先進的音樂表演場地,包括能容納400人的觀眾席、完備的後台器材及頂級的音響。

 

校內亦擁有52英畝的運動場地,而賽艇學會亦為學生提供獨特及優質的訓練配套。另外,體育中心設有各種室內體育設施,例如步槍射擊場、游泳池、健身室、武術館及攀石場等。

 

學費

每學期£14,445

Winchester_2.jpg
Winchester_4.jpg
Winchester_3.jpg

聯絡我們

對英國寄宿名校申請有興趣嗎?跟我們的英國升學專家聯絡!

JLC_logo_CMYK_website_edited.jpg

Location: Winchester, Hampshire

Gender: Boys

Age: 13 to 18

Year of establishment: 1382

Winchester_1.png
About the School

Winchester College is one of the oldest schools in the U.K. which will reach its 640th anniversary in 2022. To help students better prepared to face the demands and challenges of the modern world, Div, which explores topics far beyond the examination syllabus, is taken by all students. Div defines the liberal character of Winchester academic life and helps students think critically and articulate their thoughts with clarity and confidence.

 

Winchester is a full boarding school with 10 boarding houses containing about 60 boys each. As boys grow, they move in to more private rooms. Those in their final year will also adopt roles as senior prefects to support the younger boys in the house. 

 

Exam results and University Destinations

In 2020, at GCSE, 93.1% of the grades were 9-7 and 100% were 9-4. For Pre-U results, 81% of the grades were A*-A (or equivalent) and 90.8% were A*-B (or equivalent).

 

A significant number of students go to Oxbridge each year. In 2020, 8% of Sixth form leavers went to Oxford and 10% went to Cambridge. The remainder will nearly all attend a Russell Group or premier US universities, including Harvard and MIT.

 

Extra-curricular activities

Cricket at Winchester has a long and distinguished history and the cricket programme supported by highly qualified coaches is developed to encourage talented boys to reach their full potential.

 

Music is also integral to the life at Winchester. They are the only school to maintain the choral traditional started 600 years ago in its original form. Also, two thirds of the pupils learn an instrument, while many learn two or three.

 

Facilities

New Hall , which was extensively refurbished in 2014, provides an outstanding performance space, with seating for 400, excellent backstage facilities and first-rate acoustics.

 

Winchester also own 52 acres of playing fields, and the Boat Club offers rowers a unique and stunning setting for training. Other indoor sport facilities at the PE Centre includes a rifle range, swimming pool, gym, martial arts studio and a climbing wall.

 

School fees

£14,445 per term

Winchester_2.jpg
Winchester_4.jpg
Winchester_3.jpg

Contact

Interested in applying to a top UK boarding school? Contact our UK boarding school consultants today!

JLC_logo_CMYK_website_edited.jpg